Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Kobo Reader

Notices

Old 09-24-2015, 06:05 AM   #1
sherman
Guru
sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.sherman ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: Kobo Aura H2O, Kobo Forma
Sideloaded fonts best practices/rules

Before we start, I'm no font designer. I don't know a lot about fonts. All the information in this post I've gathered from this forum, and/or my own observations.

So I wanted to consolidate as much of the font rules and best practices for the Kobo as I could into one post. Currently this information is scattered about multiple posts over many threads. Here goes:

Font Naming:
The Kobo is very strict about how fonts should be named. The filename of the font files should be as follows
Code:
FontName-Regular.xxx OR FontName.xxx
FontName-Italic.xxx
FontName-Bold.xxx
FontName-BoldItalic.xxx
Where FontName matches that of the internal font name EXACTLY, and xxx is otf OR ttf

There may be other font naming conventions that are allowed, but this seems to be the most common, and guaranteed to work.

OpenType or TrueType?

This is not actually quite the correct question...
It should be PostScript Outlines or TrueType Outlines?, with OpenType Layout.
By convention it seems that PS outline fonts have an extension of .otf whereas TT outline fonts have an extension of .ttf