Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Recipes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2011, 12:59 PM   #1
tsger
Junior Member
tsger began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle 2i
Need help using command line

I have a custom user recipe that I created in the Calibre GUI. I want to copy the code so that I can make a .recipe file so that I can fetch the feeds from the command line.

I have successfully done that, except that the resulting feed is formatted differently compared to the feed which is downloaded using the GUI. What I did was to copy all of the code in the "Advanced" window for my custom recipe, then paste it into a new text file which I called test.recipe.

I notice that the code for my custom recipe is quite brief compared to the code for most of the built-in recipes. Is there something missing that gets added when fetching from the GUI as opposed to fetching from the command line?

FYI, here is my recipe:

Code:
class AdvancedUserRecipe1310748698(BasicNewsRecipe):
    title          = u"My Feeds"
    oldest_article = 7
    max_articles_per_feed = 100

    feeds          = [(u'Blog and Mablog', u'http://www.dougwils.com/index.php?format=feed&type=rss'), (u'A Slice of Infinity', u'http://www.rzim.org/rss/rss-slice.aspx'), (u'Desiring God Blog', u'http://feeds.feedburner.com/DGBlog'), (u'The Gospel Coalition', u'http://feeds.feedburner.com/tgcblog')]
tsger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:09 PM   #2
kovidgoyal
creator of calibre
kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.kovidgoyal ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.
 
kovidgoyal's Avatar
 
Posts: 44,385
Karma: 23798586
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
Use --output-profile kindle when running from the command line
kovidgoyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-16-2011, 03:23 AM   #3
tsger
Junior Member
tsger began at the beginning.
 
Posts: 3
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2010
Device: Kindle 2i
Fantastic, thank you, that worked perfectly!
tsger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command line - HOW? bookfanmd Calibre 19 01-12-2013 09:17 AM
calibre2opds command line help? anamardoll Related Tools 1 03-21-2011 12:14 AM
PRS-650 getting command line box? FinancialWar Sony Reader Dev Corner 17 03-08-2011 05:07 PM
Command Line (should be simple) jhall124 Calibre 6 12-22-2010 02:36 PM
Why use the command line? slantybard Calibre 6 07-22-2009 12:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:28 AM.


MobileRead.com is a privately owned, operated and funded community.