Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 06-26-2009, 10:24 AM   #1
Siwickimom
Bookin' it!
Siwickimom began at the beginning.

Device: Sony PRS-505- Sangria :) and Black Aluratek Libre
Arrow Busy (but Geeky) Mom wants freedom from laptop (lots of online fic forum reading)

Ok. I am pretty technically proficient. I'm not a coder or anything like that, but if I have a good set of directions and troubleshooting information, I am pretty fearless when it comes to trying things out. As long as you back stuff up and always can revert- I usually say, why not? Here is my situation in a nutshell:

I'm busy. I have an 11 year old boy and a 3 year old girl and they are involved in everything under the sun. I love reading but my books seem to grow legs and walk off as little hands get a hold of them. I read a lot of online fiction at forums like fanfiction.net. I love reading classics and older works as well and I have ZERO personal/moral quandries about removing DRM and/or obtaining content in less than, ah, savory ways. I also don't mind paying for something if I really want to read it right away.

I am a long time Amazon customer and we have an annual Prime Membership and have long-lusted after the Kindle. However, being the geek that I am , I have to uber-research everything. Costco has the Sony 505 on display, I have never had my hands on a Kindle 2. But that Sony sure is sexy and feels so solid and comfortable in the hand. I'm also very anal about organizing my digital files (I have a million subfolders in Outlook, media center, etc) and the fact that there are no folder options for the Kindle kinda hangs me up, too. But- by and large- it's the Whispernet and browser that is holding me up.