Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Readers > Which one should I buy?

Notices

Old 11-26-2013, 01:22 PM   #1
filtery
filtery began at the beginning.

Device: none
Post New to ereaders. Overwhelmed. Best to buy given these listed preferences?

Hi everyone. I'm interested in an eReader with an e-Ink screen for reading novels and textbooks (I'm a college student).

Here are my main priorities:

* Would like to have an eReader with a web browser that is able to effectively read text-based sites under WiFi. I read a lot on the internet and would like to be able to continue doing that with little eye strain with this reader. Mostly just able to browse mobile reddit discussion-based subreddits. Example

* Would like to have it fit in my pocket. I'm male and wear blue jeans and khaki shorts with pretty big pockets. I'm pretty sure I can fit most eReaders in my pocket so this mostly just eliminates those over 7 inches.

* I primarily obtain books through alternative means, and a lot of the times they are PDFs, so I need an eReader that is adept at displaying those, and one that isn't too locked down with DRM so that I can effectively and efficiently transfer books to and fro.

* Readability is huge. This is why I'm getting an eInk eReader over just a tablet. I've heard a lot of varying reports over which is currently the easiest on the eyes, often people claiming either the Kindle Paperwhite, Kobo Glo/Aura, or Nook Glowlight having the best or most even screens.

* A good dictionary is a must. I have a pretty week vocabulary and often the books I enjoy most have quite a large lexicon. I heard the Kindle has the best dictionary but I wasn't sure if that was the case or how I could confirm that. A touch screen would be necessary for quickly tapping a word to get its definition. Some of the words may be spanish, italian, or french that I'll be looking up (but still 99.9% english words).