09-22-2007, 12:05 PM | #1 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,532
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
calibre VMWare development environment
This is for those of you are that are interested in contributing code/patches to libprs500 development. I've created a VMWare virtual machine with a fully setup libprs500 development environment, with Eclipse as the IDE. Instructions for getting it are at at
https://calibre.kovidgoyal.net/wiki/Development Moderators: please make this a sticky. Thanks. Last edited by kovidgoyal; 09-11-2008 at 02:04 AM. |
10-28-2008, 10:48 PM | #2 |
Groupie
Posts: 168
Karma: 1000036
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Citizen of the World
Device: iPod Touch, Nook Colour, Kobo Touch, Kobo Glo, Nexus 7, Nexus 5, Pixel
|
Great idea! I tried to use this but have no idea on how to get the gentoo eth0 interface working. Without that I can't download the latest source from the repository. Any ideas anyone?
|
Advert | |
|
10-28-2008, 11:02 PM | #3 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,532
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
Code:
dmesg | grep eth Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.ethX /etc/init.d/net.ethX restart |
10-28-2008, 11:29 PM | #4 |
Groupie
Posts: 168
Karma: 1000036
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Citizen of the World
Device: iPod Touch, Nook Colour, Kobo Touch, Kobo Glo, Nexus 7, Nexus 5, Pixel
|
Managed to get it going with a "sudo dhclient eth2"
Now I'm having an issue updating the src: Cheers, Crazy Last edited by RoninTech; 10-28-2008 at 11:50 PM. Reason: more info |
10-29-2008, 12:27 AM | #5 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,532
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
no need to do --uninstall, just do sudo python setup.py develop
you're probably going to have to do Code:
emerge python-lxml qt PyQt beautifulsoup Last edited by kovidgoyal; 10-29-2008 at 01:08 AM. |
Advert | |
|
11-01-2008, 05:39 PM | #6 |
Groupie
Posts: 168
Karma: 1000036
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Citizen of the World
Device: iPod Touch, Nook Colour, Kobo Touch, Kobo Glo, Nexus 7, Nexus 5, Pixel
|
I have the vm appliance working but I can't emerge those modules ("emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "python-lxml"" etc.).
Also if I try to update to the latest source I get "ERROR: Working tree "/home/kovid/work/calibre/" has uncommitted changes. Cheers, Crazy |
11-01-2008, 05:43 PM | #7 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,532
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
oops should be just lxml
you can always delete the tree and check it out again |
11-01-2008, 06:35 PM | #8 |
Groupie
Posts: 168
Karma: 1000036
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Citizen of the World
Device: iPod Touch, Nook Colour, Kobo Touch, Kobo Glo, Nexus 7, Nexus 5, Pixel
|
OK,
Once you have your vm session running with a valid network connection (see above), the following commands worked for me: 1 - rm -Rf calibre 2 - bzr branch http://bzr.kovidgoyal.net/code/calibre/trunk calibre 3 - sudo emerge sync 4 - sudo emerge dev-python/lxml dev-python/PyQt dev-python/beautifulsoup PyQT is taking a loooong time to emerge so I'll post back if I can now build after these finish Cheers, Crazy Last edited by RoninTech; 11-01-2008 at 06:38 PM. |
11-01-2008, 06:56 PM | #9 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,532
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
yeah qt+pyqt takes forever to compile. I really should upload an updated version, but i've got too much on my plate at the moment.
|
11-01-2008, 07:49 PM | #10 |
Groupie
Posts: 168
Karma: 1000036
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Citizen of the World
Device: iPod Touch, Nook Colour, Kobo Touch, Kobo Glo, Nexus 7, Nexus 5, Pixel
|
shoot, thought it was done after a few hours but looks like I forgot qt. So at least one more step:
sudo emerge x11-libs/qt Once I'm able to build the latest source, would it be possible for me to capture my updated appliance and give it to you so others don't have to spend hours getting this stuff again? Cheers, Crazy |
11-01-2008, 07:55 PM | #11 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,532
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
Sure just delete /usr/portage/* (to save disk space) and zip up the vmware files (I use 7-zip for best compression) and post it somewhere. I'll update the version on the website with it. ALso make sure you clean out /tmp and /var /tmp before zipping.
|
11-01-2008, 09:34 PM | #12 |
Groupie
Posts: 168
Karma: 1000036
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Citizen of the World
Device: iPod Touch, Nook Colour, Kobo Touch, Kobo Glo, Nexus 7, Nexus 5, Pixel
|
I'm at a roadblock. When I try to build I get an error "Unknown Qt widget: QPlainTextEdit". So then I try to execute "sudo emerge x11-libs/qt". This runs for a while then for some reason the aterm disappears. After that, trying a build gives the same error and trying another emerge on qt runs for a while again then makes the aterm disappear. I think I'm doomed to never be able to build this thing under vm.
Cheers, Crazy |
11-01-2008, 09:38 PM | #13 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,532
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
you can ssh into the vm if you're having trouble with aterm. What versions of qt and pyqt do you have installed?
emerge -s PyQt emerge -s qt |
11-01-2008, 09:57 PM | #14 |
Groupie
Posts: 168
Karma: 1000036
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Citizen of the World
Device: iPod Touch, Nook Colour, Kobo Touch, Kobo Glo, Nexus 7, Nexus 5, Pixel
|
Here's what the emerge log says. It just seems to end while trying to emerge x11-libs/qt-4.4.2
|
11-01-2008, 10:00 PM | #15 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,532
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
I'll upload a working build later tonight.
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
iRex DR1000 Development VMWare Image | Adam B. | iRex | 9 | 08-19-2010 05:23 AM |
iLiad iLiad Development VMWare image | Adam B. | iRex Developer's Corner | 73 | 11-15-2009 10:47 AM |
Setting up Mac Calibre development environment? | pdurrant | Calibre | 2 | 01-06-2009 08:10 AM |
Setting up development environment | tompe | OpenInkpot | 9 | 08-27-2008 03:26 PM |
iLiad iRex iLiad development enviroment on VMware image | Alexander Turcic | iRex Developer's Corner | 0 | 03-31-2007 03:02 PM |