Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre > Viewer

Notices

Old 10-19-2020, 06:13 PM   #1
Aster Selene
Aster Selene began at the beginning.

Device: none
Calibre viewer playing poorly with Japanese (vertical) text

Hello! This is my first time here and I'm not sure if variants of this question have been asked before or what, but I thought I might give it a shot.

So I happen to have a few Japanese books in my library, and one quirk about them is that they read right-to-left (both in terms of turning pages and in terms of actual reading lines), and everything is written vertically. Like so:

Click image for larger version

Name:	jmHDBHs.jpg
Views:	399
Size:	294.8 KB
ID:	182888

You start reading from the right line, read top-down, and move onto the next lines on the left.

Unfortunately, the fact they're this way tends to make eBook readers play very badly with them, as I presume they're accustomed to expecting lines to be horizontally read and vertically stacked as usual. Oftentimes they'll do things like have layouting problems, or parse the text incorrectly.

In the case of calibre, the layouting is preserved and even the furigana is kept, which is awesome. But...

Click image for larger version

Name:	69UijbD.png
Views:	392
Size:	119.6 KB
ID:	182889