Register Guidelines E-Books Today's Posts Search

Go Back   MobileRead Forums > E-Book Software > Calibre

Notices

Old 07-28-2010, 03:09 AM   #1
TWiTCommander
TWiTCommander began at the beginning.

Device: kindle
Remove navbar in newsfeeds for Kindle/mobi [calibre]

Is there any way (read: an easy way) in calibre to not include the top and bottom navbar when making a mobi file from a newsfeed? The reason I ask is that the Kindle already does that for news items. It seems redundant.

May be we can get a Python class called BasicNewsRecipeSansNavbar that does everything BasicNewsRecipe does except append the navbars at the top and bottom?

I am not a programmer (although I can read code), which is why I am asking.
TWiTCommander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:00 AM   #2
GRiker
Comparer of the Ephemeris
GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.GRiker ought to be getting tired of karma fortunes by now.

Device: iPad
It sounds like you don't have your preferences optimized for Kindle.

Preferences|General|Preferred output format should be MOBI.

Preferences|Conversion|Output profile should be Kindle or Kindle DX.

When preferences are properly set, the recipes will use native Kindle navigation without the navbars.

G
GRiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Advert
Old 07-28-2010, 10:10 AM   #3
Starson17
Wizard