02-22-2012, 10:15 PM | #121 |
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Various Android Devices
|
:smack: OOps...
Almost forgot...
Dunno if this falls within the scope of your plugin but as an additional feature for the book id's if it would be possible to use customised ids to reference fanfic sites e.g. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/5149431/...han_Fanfiction would be something like: ffn:5149431 or http://ficwad.com/story/181839 would be fwad:181839 Hopefully you get the idea I'm tryin to put accross |
02-22-2012, 10:19 PM | #122 | |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
Quote:
If you're asking to be able to enter those instead of URLs, I suppose it's possible, but I don't see the point--it's a lot easier, IMO, to copy or drag the URL. |
|
Advert | |
|
02-22-2012, 10:52 PM | #123 | |
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Device: Various Android Devices
|
Quote:
And to toss another feature idea @ you (which kinda obliquely relates to the custom ids thing): Story mirrors i.e. the same story from multiple sources eg. http://ficwad.com/story/182760 and http://www.fanfiction.net/s/7820904/...Life_b_bBond_b Now feel free to tell me where to get off cuz I kno this would be insanely difficult to implement eg. having to deal with choosing which link to update from, which like to crawl for metadata, etc. etc. Nothing ventured, nothing gained ... |
|
02-22-2012, 11:03 PM | #124 | ||
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
||
02-24-2012, 06:47 PM | #125 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
New Version up with support for a new site: gayauthors.org. Thanks to Ida Leter for implementing this.
|
Advert | |
|
02-27-2012, 03:18 PM | #126 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
Beta Test for Image & Cover Support v1.5
Testing for 1.5 is finished. It's been released for general use.
These changes are all for EPUB format ebooks. The big changes are:
Images There's several new config parameters you can add to your personal.ini to turn on these features. All of them should go under the [epub] section or the epub section for individual sites, such as [www.ficwad.com:epub]. The first turns images on in general. Without this, no images will be collected and it defaults to false. Code:
include_images:true Code:
keep_summary_html:true Code:
[defaults] include_images:true keep_summary_html:true make_firstimage_cover:true Covers There are three places cover images can come from. First is an explicit cover image from the source site. Today, fimfiction.net is the only one--please let me know (with example URLs) if any of the other sites do, too. Second, the downloader can use the first image it finds in the story with this paramter. If keep_summary_html is also true, it can come from the summary. Code:
make_firstimage_cover:true Code:
[www.adastrafanfic.com:epub] default_cover_image:file:///C:/Users/username/Desktop/nook/images/icon.png [www.fictionalley.org:epub] default_cover_image:http://www.somesite.com/someimage.gif Code:
never_make_cover:true All images saved to EPUB are converted to jpeg to save size. Further, you can set what size to scale the images down to fit in. Aspect ratio is preserved and images are never scaled up, only down. You can also have them converted to grayscale for additional(minor) space savings. Code:
image_max_size: 580, 725 grayscale_images: true calibre cover The plugin has a new option on the Basic tab, "Update Cover when Updating Metadata". When checked, the calibre cover image will be updated everytime the other calibre metadata is updated (assuming EPUB). If there is a cover image in the EPUB, it will be used. If not, calibre will generate the usual 'from EPUB format' type cover, usually showing the title page. Internal changes The code for updating existing EPUBs to add new chapters has been completely rewritten. You shouldn't see any change from the outside. Other than supporting images, that is. Priority of personal.ini sections has been more formalized. When downloading an EPUB from ficwad, the sections will take priority in this order, from least to most specific:
For convenience of cutting and pasting, here's all the new image parameters together: Spoiler:
fimfiction.net locked story passwords The downloader will now prompt for password on fimfiction.net's locked stories. Because each locked story has a different password, it's not useful to store a password in personal.ini. You can, however, use the fail_on_password option to prevent the plugin from prompting for story passwords. Code:
[www.fimfiction.net] fail_on_password: true v1.5.1 adds error handing for image loading, stay-on-top v1.5.2 fixes a problem d/l'ing chapter text in GA. v1.5.3 fixes a fimficnet problem, addes replace_hr & never_make_cover options. v1.5.4 more fimfic fixs v1.5.5 fimfic story password support & fail_on_password option v1.5.6 add 'Include images in EPUBs' checkbox v1.5.7 add 'nook_img_fix' - wrap img tags with div if not already wrapped with div or p for a nook problem. Defaults to true. Jim Last edited by JimmXinu; 03-01-2012 at 09:28 PM. Reason: Remove obsolete beta versions |
02-28-2012, 04:19 AM | #127 |
Connoisseur
Posts: 67
Karma: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: Nook STR, Pocket eDGe
|
I am very excited with these new updates . I am trying the beta out and so far everything seems to work except for when I use "Update Calibre Metadata Only". When I use that option, the cover gets overwritten with a screen-shot of the summary page.
And I noticed that it is set to inject the first image found into the epub, which I like the idea of for sending it to the Nook w/o having to do the reconvert method. But I think having an option as to whether the epub gets injected with the cover or not would be a good idea, if it is possible* That's one thing I never understood about covers when I was working on an ebub in Sigil once. I was able to assign a cover image and keep it from being within the html pages. But it wasn't kosher, even though the Nook displayed the cover just fine. |
02-28-2012, 01:11 PM | #128 | |||
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Thanks for the feedback, it's very helpful! |
|||
02-28-2012, 11:46 PM | #129 | |
Connoisseur
Posts: 67
Karma: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: Nook STR, Pocket eDGe
|
Quote:
What I mean about the cover is having it as an option so that only Calibre updates the cover. Before when I downloaded a new fanfiction and I either generated a new cover or pasted in an image, that cover wasn't injected into the epub. But maybe that is what you mean and I just can't get it to work yet . Once again though, amazing work . If I could send more karma pts, I would have. I will go hunting for some stories with images in them to test next. |
|
02-28-2012, 11:57 PM | #130 | |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
Quote:
If not, can you give me the story URL? And maybe a copy of your personal.ini--minus user/passwords, of course. Thanks, glad you like it. |
|
02-29-2012, 02:39 AM | #131 | ||||
Connoisseur
Posts: 67
Karma: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: Nook STR, Pocket eDGe
|
Yes it was fimfiction stories that I tested with. My personal.ini is just this:
Quote:
An idea that just popped in my head as a possibility for a custom column option is an error code or some sort for stories that have errors when updating. I've come across a couple that no longer exist, and just a bit ago one that had some message about news or some sort for it (its error icon was the red one with a white x, I will check later to see what the exact error was). Edit: The error code I got was: Quote:
Another error code I've gotten is: Quote:
As well as several: Quote:
Last edited by jackr; 02-29-2012 at 03:52 AM. Reason: Found error message. |
||||
02-29-2012, 01:19 PM | #132 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
@jackr -
Re: cover image--the plugin gives fimfiction stories a cover whenever story has a cover image on the site and include_images is true. I'll add an option to suppress cover generation in general for such cases. Re: Accept-Encoding--there's no such option in personal.ini, you can delete it. Re: http://www.fimfiction.net/story/5947/ --downloaded fine for me with v.1.5.2. Re: http://www.fimfiction.net/story/9948/ --Failed for me, too. I'll work on it. Re: disappeared from the site or have password locks --can you give me an example URL for each? Thanks for your feedback, it's very helpful. |
02-29-2012, 01:31 PM | #133 | |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
Quote:
|
|
02-29-2012, 02:52 PM | #134 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,597
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
Beta version is now up to v1.5.3:
https://www.mobileread.com/forums/sho...85#post1982785 v1.5.1 adds error handing for image loading, stay-on-top v1.5.2 fixes a problem d/l'ing chapter text in GA. v1.5.3 fixes a fimficnet problem, adds replace_hr & never_make_cover options. Hopefully this is just about ready to go. |
02-29-2012, 06:14 PM | #135 | |
Connoisseur
Posts: 67
Karma: 92
Join Date: Mar 2011
Device: Nook STR, Pocket eDGe
|
I didn't notice the update to the beta, as well as the empty story (I just loaded it and noticed it had an image, didn't look at chapter list) X-).
Where is Accept-Encoding? I know you mentioned this feature a while back, but I couldn't find it elsewhere in the plugin. I probably misread your post about it . http://www.fimfiction.net/story/9439/ is an example for a story that no longer exists. And http://www.fimfiction.net/story/6884/ for a password locked story. Both of these get the 'NoneType' object error. I ran the plugin (v.1.5.3), and came up with a lot more errors than in 1.5. A majority of these new errors are: Quote:
I've uploaded an image showing all the errors I got this time around. http://i39.tinypic.com/16k57o4.png |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
[GUI Plugin] Count Pages | kiwidude | Plugins | 1780 | 11-05-2024 10:30 AM |
[GUI Plugin] Find Duplicates | kiwidude | Plugins | 1111 | 10-07-2024 01:13 AM |
[GUI Plugin] Open With | kiwidude | Plugins | 403 | 04-01-2024 09:39 AM |
[GUI Plugin] Resize Cover | kiwidude | Plugins | 95 | 03-17-2024 12:55 AM |
[GUI Plugin] Plugin Updater **Deprecated** | kiwidude | Plugins | 159 | 06-19-2011 01:27 PM |