04-08-2017, 09:52 AM | #61 |
Connoisseur
Posts: 59
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: iPad
|
Do you probably mean 10.12? I am running MacOS 10.12.4 Sierra, latest patchset.
My Sigil contains Sigil.app/Contents/PlugIns/platforms/libqcocoa.dylib and Sigil.app/Contents/Resources/qt.conf. I have a stack trace, but it is too long to be added here. Any more questions I could answer (mind you, I am not a python programmer). |
04-08-2017, 10:06 AM | #62 | |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,042
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
Quote:
Thanks for the confirmation that the file is actually present. The rest of my post was more for the benefit of any debugging Kevin may need to do. But thanks for being willing. |
|
Advert | |
|
04-08-2017, 10:23 AM | #63 | |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,042
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
Quote:
That's why I explicitly control the external Python's QProcessEnvironment in PluginRunner: so I can set the "QT_QPA_PLATFORM_PLUGIN_PATH" and "QT_PLUGIN_PATH" variables for that particular instance of the Python interpreter. Which is not possible when instructing Python to ignore all Python environment variables by launching it with the "-E" switch. The other option was to put a qt.conf file with the correct paths in the bundled Python executable's folder. A solution I found unsatisfactory for my Win/Lin needs (though I think I did include a qt.conf file there in my experimental Linux Sigil binary installer for good measure). Last edited by DiapDealer; 04-08-2017 at 10:26 AM. |
|
04-08-2017, 05:34 PM | #64 | |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Would you please look at the qt.conf file in Sigil.app/Contents/Resources/ and let us know exactly what it says. That qt.conf was created by the macdeployqt command and it should say where the Plugins/ directory is.
Thanks, KevinH Quote:
|
|
04-08-2017, 05:53 PM | #65 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Actually on 10.12 with Quaratined apps this gets worse ... Sierra (10.12) will Sandbox any app not from the official app store (even if properly signed) and the way they do that will break the relationship between the app and dylibs so that embedded python will not be able to find its qt.conf file.
See https://riverbankcomputing.com/piper...ne/034336.html I never see this on my machine as my own signed app is not quaratined and thus is not sandboxed. Hmm.... this may take some work. Last edited by KevinH; 04-08-2017 at 06:04 PM. |
Advert | |
|
04-09-2017, 03:22 AM | #66 | |
Connoisseur
Posts: 59
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: iPad
|
Quote:
[Paths] Plugins = PlugIns Imports = Resources/qml Qml2Imports = Resources/qml |
|
04-09-2017, 10:39 AM | #67 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
|
04-09-2017, 11:23 AM | #68 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,042
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
So 10.12 is the only version (currently) that this plugin's PyQt5 implementation will fail on?
Regardless ... it sounds like I should probably make an adjustment to my plugins that utilize PyQt5 to check for a working implementation of PyQt5 before defaulting to tkinter (rather than merely relying on the framework's time-stamp version to determine if it's OK to use PyQt5), to avoid total plugin failure on 10.12. |
04-09-2017, 04:28 PM | #69 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
This is so frustrating .... Mac OSX Sierra Gatekeeper Path Randomization is killing me.
I removed the -E flag from PluginRunner and added both environment variables to specify the plugin path. I build this on my own machine and run it, it all works. But if install Sigil.app on my own laptop and try to run it I get thefollowing totally nonsense error message: Code:
This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform plugin "cocoa" in "/Applications/Sigil.app/Contents/PlugIns/platforms". Available platform plugins are: cocoa (from /Applications/Sigil.app/Contents/PlugIns/platforms). Reinstalling the application may fix this problem. Launcher process crashed I changed things so that only pyc are used in Sigil.app, made sure nothing else gets written to the app, deep codesigned both the app and the dmg. Copy the dmg to my laptop via a usb key. Verify that everything is still properly codesigned, and then copy it to /Applications and again verify that all if properly codesigned. Then I fire it up and because of some strange path randomization, then entire thing comes back with an insane message. Forced path randomization is for the birds! This is so strange! According to the Gatekeeper docs, I have done everything I should have. I have properly codesigned deeply the app and the dmg. I have manually copies Sigil.app from the dmg image into /Applications. And according ot the following test I have properly codesigned things: Code:
cd /Applications codesign --verify --deep --verbose=2 ./Sigil.app ./Sigil.app: valid on disk ./Sigil.app: satisfies its Designated Requirement codesign --verify --deep --verbose=2 ./Sigil.app/Contents/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/Python.app ./Sigil.app/Contents/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/Python.app: valid on disk ./Sigil.app/Contents/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.5/Resources/Python.app: satisfies its Designated Requirement |
04-09-2017, 07:02 PM | #70 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
It is a bug in macdeployqt that hits all qt plugins. It has existed for a long time. I am going to have to manually add the correct rpaths after building Qt from source to fix it.
|
04-09-2017, 08:48 PM | #71 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,042
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
At least you found what it is! Until a new release of Sigil is ready to go, I'm just going to release new versions of my plugins which will allow a user to override the gui preference for the time being. Should be a fairly painless process.
Thanks for tracking it down. |
04-10-2017, 01:36 PM | #72 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Mac Users - I have yet again updated the Sigil-0.9.8 Mac Package on the github rleease site with a version of Sigil for Mac that should now happily work with PyQt5 plugins with no extra changes.
Please give it a try and let me know if it fixes the issue. Thanks KevinH |
04-10-2017, 02:34 PM | #73 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,042
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
Note that if you made the changes to the plugin that Doitsu recommended for a workaround, you'll need to undo those changes, or remove/reinstall the plugin (plugin preferences will be retained) to be able to fully utilize the new gui features of the plugin.
Thanks, Kevin! |
04-11-2017, 01:27 PM | #74 |
Connoisseur
Posts: 59
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jan 2012
Device: iPad
|
Right, I reverted the changes. And it still works now. (And the python rocket now shows up!) Thanks!
|
07-14-2017, 04:41 PM | #75 |
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Mar 2017
Device: none
|
Does this plug in save a copy of all jpegs and a folder in the local temp folder?
I've had a great semester using this so far, but now i have 300,000 jpegs in my temp folder. |
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
[FileType Plugin] YVES Bible Plugin | ClashTheBunny | Plugins | 27 | 01-16-2023 02:25 AM |
[Plugin] KindleImport Sigil plugin | DiapDealer | Plugins | 187 | 07-04-2022 11:11 AM |
Plugin not customizable: Plugin: HTML Output does not need customization | flyingfoxlee | Conversion | 2 | 02-24-2012 03:24 AM |
[GUI Plugin] Plugin Updater **Deprecated** | kiwidude | Plugins | 159 | 06-19-2011 01:27 PM |
New Plugin Type Idea: Library Plugin | cgranade | Plugins | 3 | 09-15-2010 01:11 PM |