06-24-2024, 08:14 PM | #61 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Just a caveat, you can have more than one file with the exact same filename and extension as long as they are in different folders (have different paths). This tool would as it is here would not handle that case well.
|
06-25-2024, 10:20 AM | #62 |
Guru
Posts: 781
Karma: 2298438
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Poland
Device: Various
|
Small detail: the identifier relating to the cover image is not updated.
Code:
<meta name="cover" content="THIS" /> |
Advert | |
|
06-25-2024, 11:39 AM | #63 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
It was for my content.opf test case included within that zip. Of course any existing meta cover id must point correctly to a file in the manifest on input to this program otherwise it will remain untouched.
Please zip up the opf you tested with and post it for me in case there is a logic bug I missed. Last edited by KevinH; 06-25-2024 at 11:51 AM. |
06-25-2024, 11:54 AM | #64 |
Guru
Posts: 781
Karma: 2298438
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Poland
Device: Various
|
Cancel alert. For the most part, everything was OK, but I ended up with an e-book with the wrong cover ID (cover.jpeg instead of cover.jpg), causing that wrong ID to not be changed. That is, all is well, it's just that before running the script you'd better be sure that the identifiers in the OPF file are correct.
I need to add an extra condition for myself when validating files. |
06-25-2024, 12:07 PM | #65 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Good to know, thanks!
|
Advert | |
|
06-25-2024, 12:40 PM | #66 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
FWIW, using the file extension helps prevent name collisions but I really hate seeing the "." as part of an identifier. I think it would be better to split off the extension and then add it back to the end of the filename prepended with an underscore and not a period.
So Cover.jpg as an id would become Cover_jpg If we remove the extension information completely, then many more name collisions happen as Cover.jpg may be used in Cover.xhtml and other similar things. What do people think? Kevin |
06-29-2024, 03:59 AM | #67 | ||
Enthusiast
Posts: 31
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Device: Kindle 10Gen / Kobo Aura HD / Nook STR
|
Thank you very much for your great work!
I know there is a newer version, but I wanted to say a special thanks here for taking care of these two suggestions: Quote:
And to ask you: until 2.1.0, the environment variable SIGIL_USES_DARK_MODE allowed to override the system mode. But apparently this change has disabled it: Quote:
Is there any way to set Sigil to always use Light/Dark Mode, regardless of the system mode, as before? (BTW: Windows 10-11, both x64) Thanks in advance! |
||
06-29-2024, 08:55 AM | #68 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
As far as I know, no. Mac OS never had that environment variable at all since dark mode and live switching of dark to light was part of Qt on mac for years.
Qt for Windows, until recent versions, did not support true system dark mode or live switching so Sigil created its own. But now that true Windows dark mode and live switching is supported in Qt, we changed to use it. Trying to support it and our classic dark mode theme made forcing it on via environment variable a problem. So the environment variable, stop-gap solution for Windows was removed in favour to what Windows and Qt uses.. DiapDealer should be able to answer more or maybe explain it better. As a Mac user, it was not something I dealt with at all. |
06-29-2024, 11:06 AM | #69 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Okay, since I hate uuid based ids, I have modified the standalone opf_id_updater to version 2 that tries much much harder to generate an id based on a filename even if a collision occurs by adding a 4 digit count field to the base id only when needed.
In case others are interested I have attached it. It works in my tests but it really needs to be tested on an OPF that has lots more potential for collisions to validate the new routine. See the attached. Testers and Feedback welcome. Last edited by KevinH; 07-06-2024 at 04:16 PM. Reason: Removed outdated attachment |
06-29-2024, 11:26 AM | #70 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,033
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
Changes to Qt have made forcing apps to use light/dark modes that don't coincide with the Windows light/dark theme very difficult to impossible. I got tired of trying to maintain the pretzel logic (which didn't work in all cases anyway), so I simplified things.
You can, however, customize Windows' color settings themselves to be dark system with light apps or light system with dark apps. Sigil will comply with those settings. But forcing Sigil to defy both Qt and Windows (RE light/dark theming) is no longer feasible. Or very necessary anymore, for that matter. |
07-01-2024, 12:54 AM | #71 |
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Karma: 46
Join Date: Mar 2017
Device: None
|
Hi,
I have a question about the change to focus that occurred in v2.2.0. There are several scenarios for which I have to double the number of mouse clicks to move along my workflow. For instance, in the TOC editor, if I highlight a TOC entry and click on the up or down arrow, the highlighting of the entry disappears and I cannot see which line is highlighted until I click on the slider. Is there a configuration change I can make to revert to the v2.1.0 behavior? My OS is Windows 10. |
07-01-2024, 08:35 AM | #72 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
No that is most probably a bug. There was no change in Focus behaviour made in the TOC Editor between Sigil 2.1.0 and Sigil 2.2.0 just an update from a heavily patched Qt 6.5.3 to Qt 6.6.2.
There was a change to allow more keyboard based focus changes for Accessibility but that should not have made a difference. I am not sure what you mean by slider? Is this the scroll bar? Is this the only change in Focus behaviour you noticed? If not, please provide a list (and include how to recreate it), and I will start tracking them down and fixing them. |
07-01-2024, 01:06 PM | #73 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Yes, that is a bug. Those buttons should only ever have TabFocus so that the tab key to manually move focus can tab to them for Accessibility. Mouse clicks should activate them but not give them focus.
I was overzealous trying to make Accessibility tab switching work better. This is one I should not have changed. This has now been fixed in master. If you can point me to any other similar instances, I will fix them. Last edited by KevinH; 07-01-2024 at 01:16 PM. |
07-01-2024, 03:34 PM | #74 |
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Karma: 46
Join Date: Mar 2017
Device: None
|
Kevin,
Thank you. I can't reproduce the exact scenario of another instance, but it involved doing search and replace and losing the highlighting in the code window. My intuition says that it is the same bug. Much appreciation for your time and effort maintaining and improving Sigil. |
07-01-2024, 07:03 PM | #75 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
It could be basically the same bug but I only fixed it in the EditToC code that you reported about that I could recreate.
If you can figure out where the bug exists and how to recreate it, please let me know. |
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Sigil-1.3.0 Released | DiapDealer | Sigil | 8 | 09-15-2020 08:03 AM |
Sigil-0.9.10 Released | DiapDealer | Sigil | 149 | 11-19-2018 10:20 PM |
Sigil-0.8.900 released for testing - Wait for Sigil-0.8.901 | KevinH | Sigil | 106 | 10-04-2015 10:41 AM |
Sigil 0.8.2 Released | user_none | Sigil | 12 | 12-22-2014 06:02 PM |
Sigil 0.7.0 Released | user_none | Sigil | 75 | 03-03-2013 12:41 PM |