09-09-2024, 09:17 PM | #31 | |
null operator (he/him)
Posts: 20,995
Karma: 27620706
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
Quote:
Press Tab BR |
|
09-09-2024, 09:35 PM | #32 | |
null operator (he/him)
Posts: 20,995
Karma: 27620706
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
Quote:
BR |
|
09-09-2024, 10:32 PM | #33 |
null operator (he/him)
Posts: 20,995
Karma: 27620706
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
Whoa - just noticed there are Shortcuts in Preferences for handling misspellings - why can't they be used in the Spellcheck dialogue.
And why can't the context menu in the Spellchecker be the same as the one in Codeview with the inappropriate entries greyed-out. I notice the user assigned shortcuts are not displayed in that menu, whereas the industry standard shortcuts (Ctrl+X,C,V and A) are displayed. Displaying shortcuts in menu's is how I get to remember them. BR |
09-09-2024, 10:56 PM | #34 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
It can not be "enter" that is the default "ok" button trigger on some platforms.
I think I will just make the spellcheck dialog modal and keep the hard coded shortcuts. Dialogs can have their own dedicated shortcuts. And changing them after so long is just going to make people unhappy, for not much gain. Thanks |
09-09-2024, 11:00 PM | #35 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Huh? That report is meant for users who want to embed fonts but limit them to the characters actually found in the text of the ebook. All of the chars are typically reported on a single line.
|
09-09-2024, 11:02 PM | #36 |
A Hairy Wizard
Posts: 3,220
Karma: 19000635
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charleston, SC today
Device: iPhone 15/11/X/6/iPad 1,2,Air & Air Pro/Surface Pro/Kindle PW & Fire
|
Modal?!?!?
Ummmm..... Granted, I don't use spellcheck all that much...I'm perfekt at speling...but when I do, I very often use the double click and then make multiple changes in the CV window. Having to re-run the spell check every time with its inherent re-organizing of the word list would make the process much more painful. Can we please brainstorm this a little more before making life-altering decisions?? |
09-09-2024, 11:15 PM | #37 | |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
They represent two different spellcheck tools.
The red squiggle underline approach unions the Primary and Secondary dictionaries but does not track lang attributes as it is designed to be used while actively entering or editing text. This is done for speed and because when text is being edited, the tags may still be incomplete so no real lang attributes tracking can be used. This is part of CV and not a separate dialog so it must share the keyboard shortcuts set in Preferences. The Spellcheck dialog is designed for use when primary editing/entry of text is done and tags are well formed. It fully tracks lang attributes. And can spellcheck in multiple languages (as many as used) simultaneously. It can update and fix misspelled words in multiple places simultaneously. Again this is a separate dialog that uses its own different dedicated shortcuts. Quote:
Last edited by KevinH; 09-09-2024 at 11:17 PM. |
|
09-09-2024, 11:18 PM | #38 | |
null operator (he/him)
Posts: 20,995
Karma: 27620706
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
Quote:
There's thread somewhere where Tex2002ans, me and others waxed lyrical on the advantage of a non-modal list based spell checkers. BTW he's not logged on since January, anything known? BR |
|
09-09-2024, 11:27 PM | #39 | |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Quote:
So what typical CV changes are you making after double-clicking on a word in the Spellcheck Dialog? Do you manually refresh the spellcheck wordlist? |
|
09-10-2024, 10:11 AM | #40 | |
A Hairy Wizard
Posts: 3,220
Karma: 19000635
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charleston, SC today
Device: iPhone 15/11/X/6/iPad 1,2,Air & Air Pro/Surface Pro/Kindle PW & Fire
|
Quote:
Usually, when I am in the CV fixing that word I find other things to fix right around that word - so I do. The problem with a modal dialog, or refreshing, is that it reorders the word list and I lose my place making me start at the top again. I suppose there is also the time lost to rebuild the list on slower machines as well. |
|
09-10-2024, 01:33 PM | #41 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
@BetterRed
Regarding the bug in Preferences KeyShortcuts that Tab focus will not properly move to the Assign button or the Remove Button ... I have looked more closely at this and it appears to be a bug in Qt's previousInFocusChain and nextInFocusChain not including buttons that are independently enabled and disabled as this chain appears to be built once and static at the QWidgets creation (which makes no sense to me). As it stands now, using Qt::KeyBackspace when in the shortcut field (ie. the delete key on my Mac) will properly invoke the Remove button if enabled. The same things should work on Windows. For the Assign button, there is no possible single key to launch it given you are in the shortcut creation field that would not be a valid possible field value. Tab should handle this case but it does not (the nextInFocusChain Qt bug). So unless we can figure out a single key that could be used to launch Assign (to work around this) that is not useable in assigning a shortcut we are pretty much out of luck working around this bug and will have to wait for a fix from Qt. Sorry. Update -------- To workaround this Qt bug - I tried using setTabOrder but that was ignored. Finally, I did find a way to force inject the Assign and Remove buttons into the focus chain after the Shortcut field (given they are properly enabled) with this bug workaround: Code:
diff --git a/src/Dialogs/PreferenceWidgets/KeyboardShortcutsWidget.cpp b/src/Dialogs/PreferenceWidgets/KeyboardShortcutsWidget.cpp index 8455ada0f..b8ec36566 100644 --- a/src/Dialogs/PreferenceWidgets/KeyboardShortcutsWidget.cpp +++ b/src/Dialogs/PreferenceWidgets/KeyboardShortcutsWidget.cpp @@ -293,7 +293,13 @@ void KeyboardShortcutsWidget::handleKeyEvent(QKeyEvent *event) if (nextKey == Qt::Key_Tab || nextKey == Qt::Key_Backtab) { QWidget * upnext = nullptr; if (nextKey == Qt::Key_Tab) { - upnext = nextInFocusChain(); + if (ui.assignButton->isEnabled()) { + upnext = ui.assignButton; + } else if (ui.removeButton->isEnabled()) { + upnext = ui.removeButton; + } else { + upnext = nextInFocusChain(); + } } else { upnext = previousInFocusChain(); } Last edited by KevinH; 09-10-2024 at 02:33 PM. |
09-10-2024, 08:52 PM | #42 | |
null operator (he/him)
Posts: 20,995
Karma: 27620706
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sydney Australia
Device: none
|
Quote:
BR |
|
09-11-2024, 12:39 AM | #43 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,156
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Interesting. According to the Qt ui spec, the default tab order is the order these widgets are defined in the ui file. In our ui file the shortcut field comes immediately before the assign button which is followed by the remove button.
So I really have no idea how backtabs end up reaching them from other widgets.get there when forward tabs ignore them (even when enabled). Glad you have a workaround for current Sigil you can use until the next release comes out. |
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Prevent spellchecker from opening every file | Karellen | Editor | 7 | 01-10-2023 11:08 PM |
Spellchecker problem | neilrh | Sigil | 5 | 03-04-2021 11:15 AM |
Spellchecker - enhancements | BetterRed | Sigil | 11 | 03-01-2016 06:53 PM |
Sigil 0.5.3 - spellchecker missing? | Naloomi | Sigil | 3 | 08-08-2012 10:03 PM |
Am I Missing Something? (spellchecker) | Guns4Hire | Sigil | 11 | 01-10-2010 07:57 AM |