02-19-2012, 12:00 PM | #1 |
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Device: Kobo Touch
|
Help with Calibre Portable and Linux
Hi
Apologies if this has been asked before, I have looked in the forums but cannot see anything. I would like to set Calibre up to store books on a network drive. From what I've been able to figure out myself, it seems as if I need to setup Calibre portable but I'm struggling to do so. I am running v0.8.40 on Ubuntu 11.04 and tried to configure the calibre-portable.bat file with the location of my books but nothing happens when I run it. If anyone could provide some advice, I would be very grateful. Thanks |
02-19-2012, 05:26 PM | #2 |
hopeless n00b
Posts: 5,110
Karma: 19597086
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in the middle of nowhere
Device: PW4, PW3, Libra H2O, iPad 10.5, iPad 11, iPad 12.9
|
Calibre Portable is Windows only. Don't know what you need to do to create a Linux equivalent. Sounds to me you only want the library on the network drive while running the actual program locally. If so, all you need to do is copy the calibre library to the network drive and add it to Calibre via the Switch/Create Library option.
|
Advert | |
|
02-20-2012, 06:45 AM | #3 |
Color me gone
Posts: 2,089
Karma: 1445295
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Central Oregon Coast
Device: PRS-300
|
Be aware that calibre is not yet network friendly, in that you can manage to mess up your files by having them open on more than one machine. You can also get into trouble if you try to work on files in both Linux and Windows, as file name issues can occur, since Linux and Windows do not treat file names the same.
|
02-22-2012, 04:52 PM | #4 |
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Device: Kobo Touch
|
ilovejedd : thats exactly what I want to do but the metadata.db file corrupts when its on a network drive.
Mrmikel: I only use Linux and won't be using windows at all, or access from more than one machine. Looking at the Calibre site, the way to separate the metadata.db from the actual epub files is to configure the calibre-portable.bat file and set the CALIBRE_OVERRIDE_DATABASE_PATH to point to a DB on the local drive. That doesn't seem to work for me though. Thanks for the response though, I'll keep trying to figure it out. |
02-22-2012, 04:59 PM | #5 |
hopeless n00b
Posts: 5,110
Karma: 19597086
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: in the middle of nowhere
Device: PW4, PW3, Libra H2O, iPad 10.5, iPad 11, iPad 12.9
|
I have no idea how to set-up environment variables in Linux. If you can set the CALIBRE_OVERRIDE_DATABASE_PATH via shell or something, it might work.
|
Advert | |
|
02-26-2012, 04:02 PM | #6 |
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Device: Kobo Touch
|
ilovejedd: thanks, I've just realised I've been an idiot. The calibre-portable.bat needs to be rewritten as a script for linux. Think I may be out of my depth, but I'll give it a go.....
|
02-26-2012, 05:10 PM | #7 |
Wizard
Posts: 4,553
Karma: 950151
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
|
If you have not already started then do not bother. I have already done that and am in the process of testing the results. I will upload the results when testing completes.
|
02-27-2012, 11:02 AM | #8 |
Wizard
Posts: 4,553
Karma: 950151
Join Date: Nov 2008
Device: Sony PRS-950, iphone/ipad (Marvin/iBooks/QuickReader)
|
As promised, here is a version of the Calibre-Portable.sh file for Linux. Hopefully the embedded comments are sufficient to allow any tweaking if you want something other than the default settings.
I have also included a slightly improved version of the Calibre-Portable.bat file for use with Windows. KOVID: You might want to update the version in the calibre/resources folder with these versions. |
02-27-2012, 02:10 PM | #9 |
creator of calibre
Posts: 44,526
Karma: 24495948
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mumbai, India
Device: Various
|
Done.
|
03-05-2012, 06:07 PM | #10 |
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Device: Kobo Touch
|
Hi itimpi, sorry I haven't been online for a bit or I woudl have said thanks for taking the time to do this, it's much appreciated much sooner.
|
02-01-2015, 07:13 AM | #11 |
Connoisseur
Posts: 62
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: Kobo mini, Kobo Clara HD
|
I know it is an old thread, but it just helped me to install Calibre Portable (Linux version) on usb HDD. The only change I had to do to Calibre-Portable.sh to make it work was:
Code:
echo "Starting up Calibre" echo `pwd` # original: calibre --with-library "$CALIBRE_LIBRARY_DIRECTORY" # below modified to make it portable "`pwd`/calibre" --with-library "$CALIBRE_LIBRARY_DIRECTORY" Thank you! |
02-01-2015, 07:13 PM | #12 |
Ex-Helpdesk Junkie
Posts: 19,421
Karma: 85397180
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Beaten Path, USA, Roundworld, This Side of Infinity
Device: Kindle Touch fw5.3.7 (Wifi only)
|
You should not need pwd in order to tell it to look in the current directory?
Last edited by eschwartz; 02-01-2015 at 09:54 PM. |
02-01-2015, 09:36 PM | #13 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 12,745
Karma: 75000002
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Device: Libra H2O, Libra Colour
|
Surely it all depends if the path includes ".".
Wouldn't a far simpler solution be Code:
echo "Starting up Calibre" # original: calibre --with-library "$CALIBRE_LIBRARY_DIRECTORY" # below modified to make it portable ./calibre --with-library "$CALIBRE_LIBRARY_DIRECTORY" |
02-02-2015, 12:30 PM | #14 | ||
Connoisseur
Posts: 62
Karma: 10
Join Date: Feb 2014
Device: Kobo mini, Kobo Clara HD
|
Quote:
However... Quote:
I have updated my calibre-portable.sh |
||
02-02-2015, 12:36 PM | #15 |
Ex-Helpdesk Junkie
Posts: 19,421
Karma: 85397180
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: The Beaten Path, USA, Roundworld, This Side of Infinity
Device: Kindle Touch fw5.3.7 (Wifi only)
|
Sorry, I meant do exactly that. It is the usual way of running scripts from a certain directory. For instance, every "./configure; make; make install" out there.
Who needs an extra pwd? |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Calibre Portable | cstandifird | Devices | 3 | 01-24-2012 03:29 PM |
Portable Calibre? | hermes | Related Tools | 2 | 06-02-2011 03:50 PM |
Calibre Portable | beckywc | Calibre | 4 | 12-21-2010 12:13 PM |
Portable Linux version of Sigil | readx | Sigil | 9 | 09-03-2010 03:59 AM |
Portable Linux-Mobile-Guide for iSilo and Plucker | Colin Dunstan | Lounge | 0 | 08-31-2005 06:48 AM |