03-20-2024, 10:03 PM | #9406 |
Custom User Title
Posts: 9,575
Karma: 64960983
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
|
Gremlin, then. I was having some temporary cache errors with this one so I'm guessing something went weird there.
|
03-21-2024, 04:30 AM | #9407 |
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2018
Device: none
|
Here we go, worked again today. Slow down still set to 99seconds, still basically no pause between requests. Here's the debug file:
Spoiler:
I also took a closer look at the default.ini and noticed the fg_sleep settings. Those seem quite interesting and I plan to play with them, what do they do exactly? Are there min and/or max values I have to set to avoid timeout and such? Last edited by Da Man; 03-21-2024 at 04:43 AM. |
Advert | |
|
03-21-2024, 08:31 AM | #9408 |
Custom User Title
Posts: 9,575
Karma: 64960983
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
|
Enhancement request, if feasible: A prompt when the author or series URL changes in Calibre. Keep the original URL, or update to new one.
I downloaded a fic on AO3, and this populated the author URL (per the "set Calibre Author URL" setting). I later downloaded a fic from the same author on FanFiction.net, and this automatically changed the URL. This would also help when there's multiple series sharing the same name. Last edited by ownedbycats; 03-21-2024 at 10:30 AM. |
03-21-2024, 11:23 AM | #9409 | ||
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,594
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
multi-reply
Quote:
Try setting tweak_fg_sleep:false. That should give you what you're looking for. Here's the code if you want to tweak them. Those settings were added just to try and keep ffnet happy, which obviously didn't work. Perhaps I should remove them. Quote:
I've been dealing with this for years by either ignoring it (click the story URL instead of the author URL), or changing the value, like: Code:
[www.tthfanfic.org] add_to_replace_metadata: author=>^dogbertcarroll$=>dogbertcarroll-tth |
||
03-21-2024, 11:52 AM | #9410 | |
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Karma: 10
Join Date: Jun 2018
Device: none
|
Quote:
I guess this also works for fictionpress.com? I'd suggest not removing them but including tweak_fg_sleep:false as default combined with a short explanation what they can do. With growing cloudflare use I fear we'll also have more use for them. Last edited by Da Man; 03-21-2024 at 11:57 AM. |
|
Advert | |
|
03-23-2024, 05:51 AM | #9411 |
Custom User Title
Posts: 9,575
Karma: 64960983
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
|
Question: Is it possible to use replace_metadata to copy a portion of one metadata entry to another?
Probably easiest to link my use-case (warning for a few explicits), all consisting of "Story Title" by Author Name. Rather than using a dozen storyUrl sections, I thought that I could regex a replace_metadata with seriesUrl conditional. I got the title extracted: Code:
[archiveofourown.org] add_to_replace_metadata: title=>^\"(.*)\" by (.*)$=>\1&&seriesUrl==https://archiveofourown.org/series/1618510 Last edited by ownedbycats; 03-23-2024 at 07:00 AM. |
03-23-2024, 12:03 PM | #9412 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,594
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
The only way to 'copy' between metadata entries is include_in_X.
This works for me, but I only tested a couple of cases in a clean config. Given I know you have a considerable amount of other metadata manipulation, I would not be surprised if this had problems with something else. I have a vague recollection of empty author list entries behaving weirdly with some esoteric configuration. Personally, I would use this while downloading those stories then remove it or comment it out. Code:
# make a copy of title add_to_extra_valid_entries:,titlebyauthor include_in_titlebyauthor:title.NOREPL # add that copy to author include_in_author:author,titlebyauthor add_to_replace_metadata: # clear titlebyauthor when NOT that series titlebyauthor=>^(.*)$=>&&seriesUrl!=https://archiveofourown.org/series/1618510 # rest only for that one series: # Remove author entries that DON'T start with " author=>^([^"].*)$=>&&seriesUrl==https://archiveofourown.org/series/1618510 # Remove '"title" by ' from remaining author author=>^\"(.*)\" by (.*)$=>\2&&seriesUrl==https://archiveofourown.org/series/1618510 # Remove "s and author from title title=>^\"(.*)\" by (.*)$=>\1&&seriesUrl==https://archiveofourown.org/series/1618510 |
03-23-2024, 02:41 PM | #9413 |
Custom User Title
Posts: 9,575
Karma: 64960983
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
|
Yes, that did it! Thank you.
|
03-23-2024, 07:01 PM | #9414 |
Custom User Title
Posts: 9,575
Karma: 64960983
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
|
Would it be much effort to add a 'paste as plain text' in the personal.ini editor? When I copy text from my browser for replace_metadatas, it also copies the formatting and occasionally makes it unreadable until I close and re-open.
|
03-23-2024, 07:56 PM | #9415 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,594
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
New Test Version Posted
2023-03-23 - Paste into ini edit as plain text only. I've seen that before, but honestly didn't consider it enough of an issue to do anything about. And GUI changes always make me nervous. OTOH, stackoverflow seems to think it's an easy fix. Fair warning, I've only tested this on win, not on linux or mac. But I did try Cal2.85.1 and it worked. |
03-23-2024, 08:03 PM | #9416 |
Custom User Title
Posts: 9,575
Karma: 64960983
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Canada
Device: Kobo Libra H2O, formerly Aura HD
|
It's working in my few quick tests. I'll mention if I come across any weirdnesses.
|
03-24-2024, 05:57 PM | #9417 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,594
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
New Test Version Posted
2023-03-23 - adapter_deviantartcom: Bad username fails separately than bad pass. #1052 |
03-25-2024, 11:24 AM | #9418 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,594
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
New Test Version Posted
2023-03-24 - adapter_deviantartcom: Add a 6th different message to indicate 'mature content'. #1052 |
03-25-2024, 01:34 PM | #9419 |
Connoisseur
Posts: 56
Karma: 48
Join Date: Mar 2017
Device: Kindle Basic 2014 | Kindle Paperwhite 3
|
Bypassing Error Message Window Automatically
Hello, recently whenever I download a fic that's suddenly deleted I get the following error window:
img link cause it won't embed: https://imgur.com/JDWwPI9 It says an error has occurred while Fanficfare was updating calibre's metadata (link to fic here). Is there a way for me to bypass this window entirely rather than having to check back whenever I'm downloading? Thanks. Last edited by madame_newbie; 03-25-2024 at 01:36 PM. Reason: picture brojke |
03-25-2024, 02:45 PM | #9420 |
Plugin Developer
Posts: 6,594
Karma: 4600391
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest USA
Device: Kindle Paperwhite(10th)
|
Try the latest test version. There was a change addresses that.
Also, I recommend using update notifications rather than updating from your library. IMO, you should not be regularly attempting to update deleted stories. At least, not more than once for the same story. FAQ: Why shouldn't I just select my entire library and use FanFicFare plugin to check for updates? |
Tags |
fanfiction |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
[GUI Plugin] KindleUnpack - The Plugin | DiapDealer | Plugins | 495 | 10-19-2024 07:06 AM |
[GUI Plugin] Open With | kiwidude | Plugins | 403 | 04-01-2024 09:39 AM |
[GUI Plugin] Marvin XD | Philantrop | Plugins | 126 | 01-29-2017 01:48 PM |
[GUI Plugin] KiNotes | -axel- | Plugins | 0 | 07-14-2013 07:39 PM |
[GUI Plugin] Plugin Updater **Deprecated** | kiwidude | Plugins | 159 | 06-19-2011 01:27 PM |