11-12-2019, 11:48 AM | #76 | |
Addict
Posts: 202
Karma: 62362
Join Date: Jul 2015
Device: Sony
|
Quote:
I've noticed that an underlining dash followed by a shorter underlining dash is sometimes appearing in Sigil instead of a space (see line 131 in the section MainText.xhtml of the attached epub - I tried to paste this example in this note but the underlining disappeared from the pasted version). I don't know whether Sigil or PageEdit is inserting these underlining characters. NB I decided to test Sigil 0.9.991 by developing this epub as a guide to PageEdit 0.9.6. Although the guide contains the underlining dashes mentioned above it is ready for use. |
|
11-12-2019, 12:15 PM | #77 |
Guru
Posts: 783
Karma: 2298438
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Poland
Device: Various
|
This "underlining dash followed by a shorter underlining dash" is simply nbsp saved as unicode character (not entity).
|
Advert | |
|
11-12-2019, 12:42 PM | #78 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,040
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
Yes. That mark is used to be able to "see" special space characters. They're not actually being inserted into the markup. They just show up in Sigil. You can add the entity to your Preserve Entities list (in Preferences) and they will all be changed to entities on the next Save/Mend.
Last edited by DiapDealer; 11-12-2019 at 01:01 PM. |
11-12-2019, 12:59 PM | #79 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,040
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
|
11-13-2019, 12:33 AM | #80 |
Wannabe Connoisseur
Posts: 426
Karma: 2516674
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Geelong, Australia
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura 2, Sony PRS-T1, Sony PRS-350, Palm TX
|
Ta, got it.
Done just in case... |
Advert | |
|
11-13-2019, 10:23 AM | #81 |
Wannabe Connoisseur
Posts: 426
Karma: 2516674
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Geelong, Australia
Device: Kobo Libra 2, Kobo Aura 2, Sony PRS-T1, Sony PRS-350, Palm TX
|
Using 0.991-18, if I open many files (say 20ish) from one book, then click quickly on the close tab red "x" without moving the mouse to close the files, Sigil crashes. This happens for one particular book and is repeatable, but doesn't happen on a couple of other books I tried. This particular book is copyright, so I can't post it here.
I can see a compile time debug option at https://github.com/Sigil-Ebook/Sigil...o/DEBUGGING.md. Is there anything I can do to provide debug output from a standard build, or anything else to help track down where the crash is? |
11-13-2019, 10:27 AM | #82 |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
So you are closing a whole bunch of CodeView Tabs who have tab sizes of about the same and after your mouse once after positioning it once over a tab close x, and repeatedly and quickly closing the tabs. Is that right?
|
11-13-2019, 10:33 AM | #83 | |
Addict
Posts: 202
Karma: 62362
Join Date: Jul 2015
Device: Sony
|
Quote:
Sometime (with older versions of Sigil) I made errors in codeview and saved the file without realising that an error was present. When I later switched to Bookview I would see a warning message asking me whether I want to correct the error manually or have this done automatically accompanied with a warning that if the error is corrected automatically then I may lose data. I always choose to correct the error myself. As the new version of Sigil does not have Bookview, I will not be aware of coding errors if I save a file that contains these types of errors. If I save a file containing these errors is there a risk that Mend on Save will cause a loss of data? If I open a file containing these errors later and Mend On Open is enabled is there still a risk of data loss if the file is mended on open? Also, if the errors |
|
11-13-2019, 10:35 AM | #84 |
Addict
Posts: 202
Karma: 62362
Join Date: Jul 2015
Device: Sony
|
|
11-13-2019, 10:37 AM | #85 | |
Addict
Posts: 202
Karma: 62362
Join Date: Jul 2015
Device: Sony
|
Quote:
|
|
11-13-2019, 10:44 AM | #86 | |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
This one I can recreate:
Code:
Exception Codes: EXC_I386_GPFLT Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY Termination Signal: Segmentation fault: 11 Termination Reason: Namespace SIGNAL, Code 0xb Terminating Process: exc handler [0] Thread 0 Crashed:: CrBrowserMain Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread 0 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d05b48 QObject::disconnect(QObject const*, char const*, QObject const*, char const*) + 680 1 com.sigil-ebook.Sigil.app 0x000000010a1fd57b MainWindow::BreakTabConnections(ContentTab*) + 683 2 com.sigil-ebook.Sigil.app 0x000000010a1d70f8 MainWindow::ChangeSignalsWhenTabChanges(ContentTab*, ContentTab*) + 24 3 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 4 com.sigil-ebook.Sigil.app 0x000000010a24d488 TabManager::TabChanged(ContentTab*, ContentTab*) + 72 5 com.sigil-ebook.Sigil.app 0x0000000109ee6322 TabManager::EmitTabChanged() + 98 6 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 7 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010acd983d 0x10aafa000 + 1964093 8 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 9 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010acbb736 QTabBar::setCurrentIndex(int) + 406 10 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010acbbea1 QTabBar::removeTab(int) + 1217 11 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010acd987e 0x10aafa000 + 1964158 12 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 13 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010acb600e 0x10aafa000 + 1818638 14 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 15 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010ab2db06 QStackedLayout::takeAt(int) + 438 16 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010ab2844f QLayout::removeWidget(QWidget*) + 95 17 com.sigil-ebook.Sigil.app 0x0000000109ee637c TabManager::DeleteTab(ContentTab*) + 28 18 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 19 com.sigil-ebook.Sigil.app 0x000000010a24a89c ContentTab::DeleteMe(ContentTab*) + 60 20 com.sigil-ebook.Sigil.app 0x0000000109ee443b TabManager::CloseTab(int, bool) + 91 21 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 22 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010acd983d 0x10aafa000 + 1964093 23 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 24 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010acba80b QTabBarPrivate::_q_closeTab() + 203 25 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112d08bec QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 26 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010abf49ff 0x10aafa000 + 1026559 27 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010abf489c 0x10aafa000 + 1026204 28 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010abf59cf QAbstractButton::mouseReleaseEvent(QMouseEvent*) + 271 29 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010ab4621d QWidget::event(QEvent*) + 445 30 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010ab0a4bd QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) + 269 31 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010ab0d318 QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) + 7336 32 org.qt-project.QtCore 0x0000000112cd7994 QCoreApplication::notifyInternal2(QObject*, QEvent*) + 212 33 org.qt-project.QtWidgets 0x000000010ab0ade0 QApplicationPrivate::sendMouseEvent(QWidget*, QMouseEvent*, QWidget*, QWidget*, QWidget**, QPointer<QWidget>&, bool, bool) + 896 KevinH Quote:
|
|
11-13-2019, 11:08 AM | #87 | |
Well trained by Cats
Posts: 30,451
Karma: 58055868
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The Central Coast of California
Device: Kobo Libra2,Kobo Aura2v1, K4NT(Fixed: New Bat.), Galaxy Tab A
|
Quote:
( is there any way to color a section tab that has/would have an error box?) |
|
11-13-2019, 11:08 AM | #88 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,040
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
The "quickly closing tabs" crash has been around for a while. I thought I mentioned it early in our port to QWebEngine. But I also seem to remember it was mitigated by some of our early bugfixing/trouble-shooting. I usually had to get pretty crazy about closing a bunch very quickly (with the mouse) to make it happen. I haven't tried hard to make it happen for a long time though.
|
11-13-2019, 11:20 AM | #89 |
Grand Sorcerer
Posts: 28,040
Karma: 199464182
Join Date: Jan 2010
Device: Nexus 7, Kindle Fire HD
|
Also: Gumbo should never eat content like Tidy was prone to do. Some formatting may have to be redone if it fixes something really crazy it encounters, but the content will still be there to be fixed.
I honestly cannot recommend unchecking Mend on Open/Save for any reason any more. The chances of some unfixed error propagating and affecting other Sigil routines is far greater with Mend turned off, in my opinion, than any risk that Mend might potentially butcher anything if it should it happen to encounter invalid markup when saving/opening. |
11-13-2019, 11:48 AM | #90 | |
Sigil Developer
Posts: 8,160
Karma: 5450818
Join Date: Nov 2009
Device: many
|
Hi DiapDealer,
Yes it is the exact same bug. The problem is caused by QTabBar::setCurrentIndex() that makes a call to processEvents() before it has successfully set the current index! I have no idea why it would do that but if enough QTabBar::removeTab calls are called fast enough the index never gets set properly resulting in segfaults in various places! Code:
bt * thread #1, name = 'CrBrowserMain', queue = 'com.apple.main-thread', stop reason = EXC_BAD_ACCESS (code=EXC_I386_GPFLT) * frame #0: 0x0000000108d1947a QtCore`QtSharedPointer::ExternalRefCountData::getAndRef(QObject const*) + 10 frame #1: 0x00000001000101df Sigil`TabManager::EmitTabChanged() + 111 frame #2: 0x0000000108e8fbec QtCore`QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 frame #3: 0x0000000100e7d83d QtWidgets`___lldb_unnamed_symbol2580$$QtWidgets + 701 frame #4: 0x0000000108e8fbec QtCore`QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 3132 frame #5: 0x0000000100e5f736 QtWidgets`QTabBar::setCurrentIndex(int) + 406 frame #6: 0x0000000100e5fea1 QtWidgets`QTabBar::removeTab(int) + 1217 I think we will need to disconnect the QTabBar::currentChanged signal before calling QTabBar::removeTab(int) and then manually invoking EmitTabChanged ourselves after the removeTab returns. Otherwise we are just asking for trouble. The QTabBar::setCurentIndex is very broken in design by invoking processEvents before setting the actual new index. KevinH Quote:
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
5.8.11 Pre=release | knc1 | Kindle Developer's Corner | 21 | 04-17-2018 09:42 PM |
Overdrive - Search for Pre-Release | nynaevelan | General Discussions | 11 | 11-24-2013 03:27 PM |
Where are the pre-release purchase buttons? | Sydney's Mom | General Discussions | 8 | 09-06-2012 11:57 PM |
KF Android 4.0 Pre-Release Version | robertc88 | Kindle Fire | 22 | 01-22-2012 08:24 PM |
PDF Viewer 0.3.0 pre-release | pruss | Android Devices | 62 | 11-22-2011 12:18 PM |